How to Get a Cheap Low Cost Quick Online California Divorce Lawyer in
Costa Mesa California
How to Get a Cheap Low Cost Quick Online California Divorce Lawyer
Costa Mesa California
Law Office of Don Glass in Costa Mesa
$695 to $995 Flat Fee Online Uncontested Divorce Attorney
Just because the Court Clerk ACCEPTS your divorce forms, does NOT mean your divorce forms were completed CORRECTLY to PROTECT YOU in Costa Mesa.
It is extremely important to get your divorce forms done correctly from the beginning. So, when you complete the divorce forms without attorney advice, you may give up your rights without knowing it in Costa Mesa.
1- For divorce forms online: California Courts Website
2- For Courty Local Forms online: Find My Court by Zip Code
3- Beginning divorce forms for Petitioner: Petition—Marriage (Family Law Form FL-100), the Summons (Family Law Form FL-110), and Proof of Service of Summons (Family Law Form FL-115). With children under 18, Declaration Under Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act (Family Law Form FL-105/GC-120)
4- Beginning divorce forms for Respondent: Complete the Response—Marriage (Family Law Form FL-120). Also complete the Declaration Under Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act (Family Form FL-105/GC-120)
7- For attorney legal advice: Call 951-501-3554 – Click HERE for Attorney Divorce- $695 to $995 Flat Legal Fee.
WHAT IS A DIVORCE in Costa Mesa?
A divorce is a common method for terminating a marriage relationship between two married persons. Entering into a marriage creates a binding legal relationship resulting in certain rights and obligations such as financial obligations, property rights, and rights to children. The financial and property rights created by the marital relationship cannot be altered without a legal proceeding. The most common such legal proceedings is a “Dissolution of Marriage.” A Dissolution is a legal process that ends the marital relationship and also ensures that each party maintains the rights that they deserve.
LEGAL SEPARATION IN CALIFORNIA in Costa Mesa
The decision to divorce may be motivated by a variety of reasons that may be quite complicated. For California residents who find themselves unsure about divorce, it can be helpful to seek information on another option — legal separation.
There are times when it is preferable for spouses to create some distance between themselves in order to allow them the space necessary to assess the status of their relationship. A separation may occasionally become the basis of a reconciliation; however, when that is not possible, it can also become the foundation upon which to build a solid divorce case. There are many steps in the divorce process, and legal separation can sometimes be the first step in Costa Mesa.
While California has a no-fault divorce policy, there is a state residency requirement of six months before one can legally file for divorce. There is no such requirement in order to file for legal separation. In addition, legal separation takes effect almost immediately, while divorce takes some time to become final.
If you want to separate from your spouse and for some reason do not desire to file to dissolve your marriage, you can file a Petition for Legal Separation. People choose legal separation over divorce for several different reasons. Some are opposed to divorce due to their religious beliefs. Some are just morally opposed to divorce. Some don’t want to be the one to file but want to put that ultimate decision on their spouse. Some don’t want to be divorced as they desire to stay as a dependent of their spouse for health insurance purposes. It is important to understand that if you file for legal separation, your spouse can turn it into a dissolution even if that is not your wish in Costa Mesa.
As stated above, there are no residency requirements for filing your legal separation petition (you don’t need to be six (6) months in the state and three (3) months in the county) but it is also important to understand that if you file for legal separation and your spouse files for dissolution in another jurisdiction (assuming he qualifies), then the dissolution case will trump the legal separation case and your legal separation case will be dismissed.
There is no six (6) month cooling off period in a legal separation action. You can proceed to judgment after the response time for the other party has elapsed or as soon as the parties can come to an agreement or trial can be set.
In a legal separation case, we can accomplish everything we accomplish in a divorce case (custody, visitation, support, division of assets and debts) except that you will not be divorced at the end of your case – you will not be free to remarry. If at a later date, you determine that you want to be divorced, then you can file your dissolution proceeding at that time.
If you are filing for legal separation as opposed to a dissolution so that you can remain on your spouse’s health insurance policy, then you would be well advised to research your particular policy. Some companies have a provision that even a legal separation is a triggering event such that for the purposes of dependent coverage, you are no longer an insured dependent.
ARE THERE ANY RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS IN ORDER TO OBTAIN A DISSOLUTION OF MARRIAGE in Costa Mesa?
Yes. To get a divorce in California, at least one of the spouses has to have been a resident of the state for at least six months before filing the divorce petition. You must also live in the county where you file the divorce petition for at least three months before filing.
If you cannot meet these residency requirements, you may file an action for “Legal Separation” for you: this type of action does not have a residency requirement. Later, you may convert the Legal Separation action into a Dissolution action after you have been in California long enough to satisfy the residency requirements.
HOW DOES A DIVORCE DIFFER FROM A LEGAL SEPARATION?
When a divorce petition is granted, the marriage is terminated. When the parties involved file for and are granted a legal separation, under the law the parties are still considered to be married and thus the marital relationship is still intact. Parties that are legally separated are not free to remarry. One major advantage of filing for legal separation in the state of California is that the filing party can be eligible to receive a legal separation even if they do not meet California residency requirements in Costa Mesa.
HOW LONG SHOULD A DIVORCE TAKE in Costa Mesa?
The biggest factor in determining how long a divorce process lasts is the level of cooperation that can be expected, a divorce proceeding can take between six to eighteen months to be resolved. If the divorce is high-conflict with lots of different issues involved, then the proceedings can take as long as five years to be resolved. Simple cases where no children are involved and there is little conflict between spouses can be resolved in as few as six months in Costa Mesa.
Beyond that explanation, this becomes a complicated question to answer. First, California has a 6 month waiting period, which begins form the time a divorce has “begun” to the first date at which a divorce can become “final.” This is the earliest date on which a married couple can be returned to a status of “single.” But that does not mean that the agreements encompassed in a divorce need to wait that long. Agreements can be reached and documents can be prepared formalizing the divorce agreement. With the proper help and formalities, the documents can even be filed with the court before the 6 month waiting period has lapsed. Then you simply wait for the minimum waiting period to pass.
CAN MY SPOUSE STOP ME FROM GETTING A DIVORCE IN Costa Mesa?
No. California is a “No Fault” state, which means that either spouse may file for divorce at any time, for any reason. If the other spouse does not wish to proceed with divorce proceedings and ignores the petition filed in court, then the filing party can take steps to obtain a default judgment of dissolution of marriage.
IF WE CANNOT AGREE ON CUSTODY OR VISITATION, WHO DOES THE COURT DECIDE ON THE CUSTODY PLAN?
Custody litigation boils down to essentially a single question: what is in the best interest of the child? This question is a psychological one posed by the court.
How to Get a Divorce or Legal Separation California FAQ’s continued in Costa Mesa.
WILL I BE ENTITLED TO CHILD SUPPORT? WILL I HAVE TO PAY CHILD SUPPORT?
One of the most nerve-wracking aspects of Dissolution is the financial uncertainty created by the splitting of the household—suddenly there are two sets of bills to pay. All divorces involve a reduction in the lifestyle of the family involved. The goal is to minimize the financial impact on the children while obtaining a fair child support order.
WILL I BE ENTITLED TO SPOUSAL SUPPORT? WILL I HAVE TO PAY SPOUSAL SUPPORT?
The current state of California spousal support law is chaotic. There are two separate systems for calculating spousal support. There is little predictability: a Judge in one courtroom may rule one way, and a Judge in the courtroom down the hall may rule another way on the same set of facts. Rife with both potential unfairness for both Payor and Payee, going to court on spousal support issues in California is like spinning a roulette wheel in Costa Mesa.
HOW WILL THE COURT DIVIDE OUR ASSETS AND DEBTS? WILL THE COURT GIVE ME CREDIT FOR THE MONEY I BROUGHT INTO THE MARRIAGE OR INHERITED?
At first glance California property laws can seem simple—and they can be, if you and your spouse agree. In fact many of our clients prefer “horse trading”—allocating their estate between them and their spouses without deep consideration of values, separate property claims, etc. And this is fine under California law, and can be fast and save on legal billing in Costa Mesa.
However, in some cases this “Cliffs Notes” version of family law can result in severely unfair property divisions. Sometimes the devil in the details, and sometimes hundreds of thousands of dollars are in those details, too.
IF MY SPOUSE LIVES IN ANOTHER STATE, WHERE DO WE FILE OUR DIVORCE?
This is a complicated question whose specific facts must be analyzed by an experienced and competent divorce attorney.
WHAT IS THE PROCESS FOR GETTING A DIVORCE IN Costa Mesa CALIFORNIA?
If you have been married for less than five years, have no children, don’t own real estate, and have relatively limited property and debts, you may qualify for a “Summary Dissolution.” If you do qualify, make sure to find out whether actually filing for a Summary Dissolution is a good idea in your particular case. In many cases, it is not.
If you don’t qualify for a summary dissolution, a typical dissolution of marriage requires the following steps (it helps to divide the procedure into the Beginning, the Middle, and the End in Costa Mesa):
The Beginning: Step One in Costa Mesa
One spouse files a divorce petition and serves it on the other spouse (called the Respondent).
The Respondent then has thirty days to file a response to the petition if they wish to participate in the divorce process. Otherwise, they may be defaulted out of the divorce proceedings, leaving the Petitioner to get what they had specifically asked for in their initial court documents.
One of the spouses may request temporary court orders by filing for a hearing. At this hearing, the judge may make temporary orders for issues such as Child Custody, support, and restraining orders.
The Middle: Step Two in Costa Mesa
The spouses then engage in discovery, which is the process by which they exchange information and documents that are relevant to the divorce. One of the required aspects of discovery is the preparation of the Preliminary Declaration of Disclosure. This is process in which each spouse lists the community and separate property and declares their income and expenses.
The End: Step Three in Costa Mesa
After the discovery is complete, the spouses and their attorneys will discuss settlement of the case. If the case is resolved by agreement, one of the attorneys will prepare a Marital Settlement Agreement, which should include all of the terms of the agreement. This is a contract that is signed by the spouses and their attorneys.
If the parties are not able to agree on all of the issues in the case, a trial will take place in Costa Mesa.
After the parties sign the Marital Settlement Agreement or after the trial has concluded, one of the attorneys will prepare a Judgment of Dissolution of Marriage. This is the document that contains all of the court’s orders. The judgment is filed with the court, concluding the legal action in most cases.
WHY SHOULD I USE THE LAW OFFICES OF DONALD GLASS IN Costa Mesa?
We are different from other law firms: The California State Bar allows Unbundled Legal Services and this allows us to offer from $695 Flat Fee Divorce and pay as you go payments. Other law firms charge $2500 upfront retainer deposits plus $250 hourly charges. We are a FULL SERVICE DIVORCE LAW FIRM dedicated to you, your family and your children and have built a strong reputation handling California Divorce & Separation cases in all 58 Counties. Our mission is a successful completion of your uncontested divorce at a very affordable flat fee and your solution for a low-cost professional divorce attorney. Please Watch our Video at www.AttorneyPreparedDivorceForms.com .
Law Office of Don Glass in Costa Mesa
$695 to $995 Flat Fee Online Uncontested Divorce Attorney